Venus Optics Macro 2:1 Lens Review

Hi everyone,

I haven’t blogged in a while so I thought I would 🙂 Starting with the review of the Venus LAOWA 60mm f2.8 2:1 Macro lens.

I was sent this lens by Venus Optics a few weeks back and decided I would take it to Greece with me on my wildlife guiding trip to test it out, although this  lens has been in the market for some time, people still haven’t herd about it, which is odd as its a fantastic lens.

The lens comes with a nice little padded pouch, but no hood, this is no issue for me but other macro lenses do come with them. The build quality seems really robust, all metal, which adds strength and durability that other similar macro lens lack.

AX9A1891-300x20460mmPdtImage-600x469

It’s important to note that this is an all manual lens, so along with manual focus you will have to set the aperture using the dials on the lens. I always use manual focus anyway but the setting of the aperture on the lens was new to me, and…… I kind of liked it!. I found it easier and quicker to change meaning less photo opportunities missed. If you are a macro photographer like me then you know all too well that an insect can jump, crawl or fly away in an instant and you missed your shot because you had to look at your camera to change F stop, with this you don’t, you can move the dial just as you would a focus ring whilst composing your shot, simple.

IMG_3218

Empusa Pennata – Canon 6D – Venus Macro 2:1 Natural Light

I was keen to try this lens out using only natural light mounted on my Canon 6D and it didn’t let me down, the bokeh rendering compared to other macro lens was just superb, smooth and slightly saturated colours and a sharp subject matter making the image pop.

IMG_2022

Blue – Canon 6D – Venus Macro 2:1 Natural Light

I did suffer some vignettes using this lens for portraits, but it is designed for Crop bodies so that was to be expected using it on a Full Frame 6D. It doesn’t effect macro what so ever. I wish I could have tried it out as a portrait lens, maybe they will release a full frame macro lens in the future.

I had read that some users also suffered from a warm orange tint to their photos when using this lens, But I didn’t experience any of it. The lens is a tad heavy compared to others, but its strong reliable build reflects this.

All in all I would definitely recommend this lens to my friends and fellow photographers, It will be a regular in my camera bag from now on. Reasonably priced, quality build and 2:1 macro without the need for tubes, it’s an absolute little beauty.

If you have just started to get into macro but want to get that little bit closer, then this is the lens for you!

http://www.venuslens.net/product/venus-v-dx-60mm-f2-8-ultra-macro-lens/

More shots will follow over the next few months!

Matt

IMG_2169

Nemoptera bipennis – Canon 6D – Venus Macro 2:1 Natural Light

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

